Apple Pork Chops

So what are we going to do with the 20+ apples we picked yesterday?  Well, this morning I made a cinnamon apple omelet (cook the apple slices in butter with cinnamon, then fold into some eggs.  Easy peasy).

 

And tonight?  Apple Pork Chops.

 

Now, I know I said I don’t allow pork in the house, which is kind of true.  But it’s really more specific than that.  Since pigs are about as smart as 3-4 year old human children, I feel AWFUL about eating them.  So on the rare occasion that I do, I make sure they are humanely raised and slaughtered.  I order them from U.S. Wellness.  They’re more expensive that way (obviously), but I feel a lot better.  I also buy grass-fed bison and beef, but that’s easier to find in grocery stores than pork.  And I still have issues with humane slaughtering *sigh*. . .I need to go to my local farm.  Which means I need to start planning better.

 

Image

 

Apple Pork Chops

1) Take two pork chops (mine were butterflied), salt and pepper each side.  I used Himalayan pink sea salt, because it goes really well with sweeter flavors (ie apples).  Put the pork chops in the oven at 350.

2) While pork chops are cooking, slice a yellow onion and three medium-sized green apples (I used Smokehouse, which I had never heard of until I got to the orchard yesterday)

3) Put onion and apple slices (not skinned) in a pan, and heat on medium-high until the pieces start browning

4) Once the pieces start browning, add 1/4 cup of chicken stock, 1 tbsp of butter, and 1 tbsp of fresh lemon juice (to cut the sweetness a bit).  Add Himalayan pink sea salt to taste

5) Let apples and onion cook until they’re soft

6) Serve pork chops either over or under apples

We ate these with garlic spinach, but Brussels sprouts would have been awesome as well (although Adam says if I make them again this week, he’ll kill me)

 

Image

(me and friends at the orchard)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

