Stuffed Portobellos

Image

Here is my take on Everyday Paleo‘s Stuffed Portobellos:

1) cut stems out of 4 portobellos. scoop the gills out with a spoon. preheat oven to 400

2) in a pan, brown 1 lb of ground grassfed beef with 1/2 lb of ground turkey (or whatever meat you want; Everyday Paleo calls for pork, which I don’t allow in the house – I’M SORRY ADAM), 1/2 a green pepper (chopped), a whole red onion (chopped), three cloves of garlic (minced), and the chopped portobellos stems

3) add 1 Tbsp basil, sea salt to taste, pepper to taste, 1 tsp smoked paprika, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper to meat and veggie mixture

4) when meat and veggies are done cooking, drain the excess liquid from the pan

5) put portobellos in a lightly-oiled glass dish

6) mix the meat and veggies with 2 eggs and a little bit of olive oil (I cut out Everyday Paleo’s recommended coconut flour 1) because it makes the meat dry, and 2) it makes my tummy hurt)

7) spoon the mixture into the portobellos, and bake for 20 minutes

* serving suggestion (totally optional): drizzle with balsamic vinegar

 

The original recipe also calls for blending the meat/veggie mixture in a food processor, but I skipped that step. . .because I’m lazy, and I hate doing dishes.  Honestly, I use as few dishes as possible every time I cook, which makes my boyfriend insane.  When I cook, all I hear is, “How hard is it to grab a new spoon?”  And obviously, it’s not.  But I freakin hate doing dishes.  And I hate coconut flour.  I want things yummy, clean, and simple.  1 pan, 1 pyrex, 1 knife, 1 spoon.  BAM.  You don’t even have to run the dishwasher. Paleo AND green.  Does it get any better?

 

This would be delicious with sweet potato fries. . .or crispy curried sweet potato chips.  Recipe coming later 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

